Year 3

Welcome to Year 3!

A very warm welcome to each and every one of you joining us in Year Three in the academic year: 2020 - 2021. 

 

Miss Wright and Miss McManus cannot wait to go on this new learning adventure with you where we will explore Predators from around the world, travel Through the Ages, meet Gods and Mortals from the past, examine Mighty Metals, feel the Tremors as well as become Urban Pioneers!  

Doodle Information

Remote Learning Spring Term

Year 3 Lockdown Learning 2021

Hello Year 3,

 

While we isolate (as a precaution), we are hoping that you will follow this week's timetable and use the time at home to continue to extend your knowledge, skills and understanding across many aspects of our exciting and varied curriculum.

There will be a daily timetable uploaded here, with various lesson resources and videos to help you with your learning ...

 

It can all be found here and on the video resource centre in our Year 3 section. Remember to click 'view more in playlist' to access the videos for each day.

 

We can't wait to see the evidence of your hard work, either via photographs and videos that you can send in to the admin email address: admin@honiton-pri.devon.sch.uk or in your workbooks when we are able to return to school.

 

Have lots of fun, keep reading and please stay safe!

Woods Wednesday

A little Information regarding Wednesday 10th March

Friday 5th March
Thursday 4th March - World Book Day!

Karl Nova reads his poem 'The Misinformation Age'

Michael Rosen-Chocolate cake

Red Red Lips by Donna Washington

Wednesday 3rd March
Tuesday 2nd March
Monday 1st March

The Iron Man, Chapter Two

Still image for this video
Friday 26th February
Thursday 25th February
Wednesday 24th February

What Is A Force?

Tuesday 23rd February

The Iron Man, Chapter One

Still image for this video

PE With Joe Wicks

Friday 12th February

The Water Cycle Rap Song

The Water Cycle

Thursday 11th February
Wednesday 10th February
Tuesday 9th February

The Present

Nessy Spelling Strategy | Apostrophes - When To Use Them

PE With Joe 2021

Monday 8th February
Friday 5th February
Thursday 4th February

Road Safety Lessons - Crossing The Road

How to cross a road safely

Child Road Safety - King of the road

Wednesday 3rd February
Tuesday 2nd February

Funny Birds Animated Short Film

PE With Joe 2021

Monday 1st February

Adverbs and Adverbials

Adam and Eve

Friday 29th January
Thursday 28th January
Wednesday 27th January

How tsunamis work - Alex Gendler

Tuesday 26th January

Lifted - Pixar

PE With Joe 2021 | Monday 25th Jan

Monday 25th January

PE at Home

Friday 22nd January
Thursday 21st January
Wednesday 20th January

3 Types of Rocks and the Rock Cycle: Igneous, Sedimentary, Metamorphic

The 3 Types of Rocks

Tuesday 19th January

PE With Joe

Monday 18th January

Creation (Genesis 1-2)

Friday 15th January

Thursday 14th January

Daily Timetable and Resources Now Altogether

Wednesday 13th January

Daily Timetable and Resources Now Altogether

Tuesday 12th January

Daily Timetable and Resources Now Altogether

PE With Joe!

Monday 11th January

Creation (Genesis 1-2)

Friday 8th January

How Do Volcanoes Erupt?

Thursday 7th January

Explore Volcanoes With Nat Geo Kids!

Volcanoes for Kids

Our Volcanoes for Kids video is a fun and engaging way to introduce volcanoes to children. In this video kids will learn all about volcanoes and take away ...

Wednesday 6th January

BBC Geography - Plate Tectonics

Öxarárfoss and Thingvellir Tectonic Plates - Iceland

Our new topic in January will be...TREMORS!

Below are some home learning challenges of your choice to get your teeth stuck into over the Christmas break.

Year 3 Bubble Isolation Learning

Hello Year 3,

 

While our year group 'bubble' isolate (as a precaution), we are hoping that you will follow this week's timetable and use the time at home to continue to extend your knowledge, skills and understanding across many aspects of our exciting and varied curriculum.

There will be a daily timetable uploaded here, with various lesson resources and videos to help you with your learning ...

 

It can all be found here and on the video resource centre in our Year 3 section. Remember to click 'view more in playlist' to access the videos for each day.

 

We can't wait to see the evidence of your hard work, either via photographs and videos that you can send in to the admin email address: admin@honiton-pri.devon.sch.uk or in your workbooks when we are able to return to school.

 

Have lots of fun, keep reading and please stay safe!

Friday 4th December
Thursday 3rd December
Wednesday 2nd December
Tuesday 1st December
Monday 30th November
Friday 27th November
Thursday 26th November

Wednesday 25th November

Tuesday 23rd November

Remote Learning (If self-isolating)

Should your child need to quarantine or self-isolate at home, please find below some activities that they can complete.  These will be in line with what the children are doing in class.  If you want, you can send in some photos of the learning that they have completed to: admin@honitonprimary.co.uk 

Head over to the Video Resource Centre to see and hear your teachers read 'The Owl Tree' by Jenny Nimmo

Math Antics - Multi-Digit Subtraction

Math Antics - Multi-Digit Addition

Weekly Spelling and Maths Challenges

Here you will find the Year 3 Spelling and Maths homework activities that will be set each Wednesday and due back in the following Monday.  

 

Alongside these activities, we ask that you read at least 5 times in a week and also keep practising your times tables, the fundamental skills for learning!

 

Try and be as inventive as possible with practising the spellings and don't forget, you can still go on Times table Rockstars, DoodleMaths and DoodleSpelling!!!

Your Home Learning Challenges for Week Commencing 16th November 2020

Your Home Learning Challenges for Week Commencing 9th November 2020

Your Home Learning Challenges for Week Commencing 12th October 2020

Your Home Learning Challenges for Week Commencing 28th September 2020

Your Home Learning Challenges for Week Commencing 21st September 2020

How to Draw an Alligator

How about having a go at drawing an alligator like we did in class? Remember, take your time, listen carefully, use a scientific eye and have a growth mindset!

Academic Year 2019-2020

We are really looking forward to welcoming everyone back to school in September. To help make this a smooth transition for all of our children, we have made some resources for you to look through and complete with your child. The story 'Safe in school' may be helpful if your child is feeling anxious about the return to school. We have made a shorter story as well, called 'Going back to school', that your child might prefer. There is also a 'Meet the teacher' document, a video from your child's new teacher, and a list of the new rules that we will be helping the children to follow in September. The week before school starts, we will be adding a video tour of your child's new classroom and key areas of the school to this page. Have a lovely summer, and we can't wait to see you all soon!

Summer Home Learning

HPS Virtual Sports Day
Your HPS Home Learning Challenges

TT Rockstars - Guinness World Record Attempt!

VE Home Learning Ideas 

Adding 9 Video

Still image for this video
A quick reminder of the '+10 - 1' strategy

Addition column method exchanging

Still image for this video
Some useful websites:
Welcome to Year 3 from Miss Buckingham and Mrs Wynne